2019 Groove Awards Complete Winners List



Image may contain: one or more people, crowd and indoor

This year’s fourteenth annual Groove Music Awards kicked off at the Kenya National Theater in Nairobi on Saturday night and brought out some of gospel music’s most celebrated artists and most popular bands for an unforgettable evening of bombastic music acts and memorable acceptance speeches.

Image may contain: 1 person

The star-studded show, hosted by Abel and the lovely Ivy, featured performances by Moji Shotbaba, Jabidii, Evelyn Mutua to name just a few.

In line with the theme “Better Together,” this year’s awards season has focused on the message of unity in building better relationships, synergies and societies. It encourages a spirit of togetherness and highlights how togetherness helps build powerful and stronger bonds.

Image may contain: 4 people, people smiling, beard and indoor
Jabidii, Moji Shortbaba and Timeless Noel. PHOTO/ FACEBOOK

However, the real reason for the big night was to celebrate the artists fans love, and Jabidii led the pack with a jaw-dropping 11 nominations in total and walked away with five awards; Reggae/ Ragga Song of the Year, Teens Choice Song of theYear, Collabo of the Year, Dance Style/ Song of the Year and Song of the Year.

Eunice Njeri made an impressive comeback was who won the Artist of the Year Award and Praise and Worship Song of the Year.

Former secular pop star Wahu Kagwi bagged her first Groove award for the Music Video of The Year Award while Benachi was crowned the Diaspora Artist of the Year.

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, indoor
Songstress Wahu and her husband Nameless were all smiles posing with the trophy. PHOTO/ FACEBOOK

Check out the full list of winners, *in bold*, below

Artist of the Year – Eunice Njeri

Song of the Year: Vimbada – Jabidii, Moji Short Babaa

Music Video of the Year –  Nifanane Nawe – Wahu Kagwe

Young Groover of the Year – Amani Gracious

Reggae/ Ragga Song of the Year – China – Jabidii

Teens Choice Song of theYear – Vimbada – Jabidii, Moji Short Babaa

Collabo of the Year – Vimbada – Jabidii, Moji Short Babaa 

Dance Style/ Song of the Year – Vimbada – Jabidii, Moji Short Babaa 

Outstanding Contributor – RKay

Diaspora Artist of the Year – Benachi

Hypeman/ MC of the Year – Timeless Noel

Song Writer of the Year – Pitson

Online/ Digital Personality of The Year – Kabi and Milly for the WaJesus Family

Video Producer of the Year – Steve Mugo

The Audio Producer of The Year – Gideon Kimanzi

Breakthrough Female Artist of The Year – Emma Omonge

Breakthrough Male Artist of The Year – Baraka Musiq

Breakthrough Dj of the Year – Ken the Dj

Media Personality of The Year-  Syombua Mwele

Praise and Worship Song of the Year – Eunice Njeri Zaidi na Zaidi

Nyanza Counties Song of the Year – Conquerer – Fenny Kerubo

Rift Valley Song of the Year – Kapchi – Mum Cherop 

Eastern Counties Song of the Year – Stephen Kasolo

Coastal Song of the Year – Nakupenda – Eve Bahati

Central Song of the Year – Mutheani – Phyllis Mbuthia and Sammy Irungu

Western Song of the Year – Lwanda ni Yesu – Timothy Kitui and Ali Mukhwana

Previous articleAdult filmmaker wants Willow Smith to direct ngwati
Next articleBarack Obama Wore a Killer Leather Jacket to the NBA Finals
I'm a Society & Culture blogger, Writer, PR /Journalism student at MMUST. Public awareness is an essential ingredient for national mobilization. In that regard, it is my social obligation to support society's efforts in dealing with national disasters like unemployment, terrorism, drought and famine, deforestation and habitat loss, and other forms of humanitarian crises. I'm using my blog as a platform to effect social change.