2018 Kalasha Awards: Here’s who won what

Here's everything that you need to know about the prestigious star-studded event

Singer cum actor Pascal Tokodi and other winners of the night pose for a photo session. Photo/Courtesy

The annual Kalasha Film and TV Awards took place on Saturday night at the Safari Park Hotel in Nairobi and it was a night of glamour and gongs.

The prestigious event which has been a much-anticipated date in Kenya’s entertainment diary since 2009 never fails to bring out an array of well-dressed personalities and highly-deserving winners.

This year the star-studded ceremony was bigger and better than ever, with the guest list boasting an A-list line-up of the very best actors and actresses, film directors, producers and script writers, government dignitaries, politicians and other industry stakeholders.

On arrival, celebrities donned their chicest ensembles- with the red carpet being a flurry of designer outfits by local and international brands.

Brenda Wairimu walked away with the grand prize of Best Lead actress as Andrew Mageto took home Best Director of Photography, Disconnect.

‘Subira’ won best feature film and best director in a film ( Ravneet Sippy Chanda), Best Lighting (Saul Ogada) and Best Editor  (Roselida Tabu and Terry Kelly) while ‘Supa Modo’  scooped nods for best lead actor in a film (Johnson Chege), best production designer (Neha Manoj Shah), and best supporting actress in a film (Marianne Nungo).

The two flicks emerged the biggest winners of the night scooping most of the awards in the categories they were nominated for.

Here’s the complete list of winners:


Best supporting actor in a Film – Pascal Tokodi,
Best supporting actress in a film – Marianne Nungo, Supa Modo.
Best Sound Design – Eric Musyoka, Disconnect
Best Lighting – Saul Ogada, Subira.
Best Special Effects – Stephen Mwangudza, Ramah potter.
Best Production Designer – Neha Manoj Shah, Supa Modo.
Best Animation Production – Brian K Tarus, Isolated.
Best Diaspora Production – The Silent Battle, Samuel Oluoko.
Best Documentary – Thank You For The Rain, Emily Wanja.
Best Documentary by a student – No Means No, Bobby Owuor.
Best Student Film – White Feature, Martin Okello.
Best Short Film – Poacher, Davina Leonard.
Best Local Language Film – World Tofauti, Kang’ethe Mungai.
Best Director of Photography – Andrew Mageto, Disconnect.
Best Editor – Roselida Tabu and Terry Kelly, Subira.
Best Original Score – Hart The Band, World Tofauti.
Best Original Screenplay – Supa Modo.
Life Achievement Award – Njeri Karago.
Best Lead Actor in a Film – Johnson Chege, Supa Modo.
Best Lead Actress in a Film – Brenda Wairimu,
Best Director in a Film – Ravneet Sippy Chanda, Subira.
Best Feature Film – Subira.


Best TV advertisement – Modern Coast, Life is a journey.
Pest Performance in a TV comedy – MCA Tricky, Churchill Show.
Best Programming Code – K24 TV.
Best Host in a TV Show – Emcee Jessy, Churchill Raw.
Best TV Drama – Selina, Reuben Odanga.
Best TV Show – Churchill Raw.
Best TV Comedy – The Real Househelps of Kawangware.
Kituo Halisi Award (Local Content) – Kenya Broadcasting Corporation (KBC).
Best Lead Actor in a TV drama – Eddie Peter, My Two Wives.
Best Lead Actress in a TV Drama – Diana Mulwa, My Two Wives.

Previous articleSnoop Dogg thanks himself for his success
Next articleKing Kaka ‘Eastlando Royalty’ Artwork & Track List
I'm a Society & Culture blogger, Columnist, PR /Journalism student . Public awareness is an essential ingredient for national mobilization. In that regard, it is my social obligation to support society's efforts in dealing with national disasters like drought, famine, deforestation, and other forms of humanitarian crises. I'm using my blog as a platform to effect social change.